IBM Professional Certification Program

Certify your skills. Accelerate your career.

IBM Certified Infrastructure Systems Architect

Job Role Description / Target Audience

Note: This certification will be withdrawn on 12/31/2016.

The certification is open to all Business Partners - Systems Integrators, Distributors, Resellers, ISVs, and IT Consultants - and recognizes a certified job role for technical individuals that encompasses technical sales support and becomes part of the worldwide IT Architect profession. Customers who also decide to have in-house professional architect skills as well as IBMers are also eligible to participate.

The IBM Certified Infrastructure Systems Architect (ISA) certification is designed to enhance the technical sales and solution design skills of an individual within the Business Partner firm to be better able to define and develop comprehensive client solutions. Comprehensive client solutions can generate greater financial results to the firm while clients can benefit by implementing leading-edge solutions that pay off faster. 

ISAs will develop and validate strong technical leadership skills enabling them to architect and design complex IT infrastructure solutions that include integrated multiple server platforms, software middleware, storage, and services.

Recommended Prerequisite Skills

Candidates who wish to because an IBM Certified Infrastructure Systems Architect should have at least five years IT experience and proven capability in a technical project leadership role. Some IT Architect experience is recommended.


This certification requires 2 IBM technical certifications + 1 IBM Cloud technical certification + completion of IT architectural methodology education and certification program. 

Please note that it is no longer necessary to submit an application in order to be eligible for the ISA certification.

1.  2 IBM technical certifications:

Important: Hardware certifications must be for Power, z Systems and/or Storage Systems. 

Important: Please note that the links above contain information on sales certifications as well as on technical certifications. Only technical certifications will be accepted for this core requirement. If you have any question about the validity of a certification in fulfilling this requirement, please send a note to

2.   1 IBM Cloud technical certification


3.  IT architectural methodology education and certification:

4. When you have completed all the requirements above, please send a note to along with a PDF copy of your TOGAF certificate.  This step is required in order to receive your certification. You will then be recognized with the IBM Certified for Infrastructure Systems Architects certification.


Note: All the IBM certifications must be less than 2 years old at the time you fulfill all the ISA requirements.


In order to maintain IBM Certified Infrastructure Systems Architect status, it is necessary to be recertified every two years. The process involves recertification of the two technical product certifications. Alternatively, you may choose new technical product certifications using the guidelines listed in step 1 above. For Business Partners in the IBM PartnerWorld program, unless you fulfill this requirement and notify of the new certifications, your ISA Certification will be placed in a "renewable" status.  You will not receive PartnerWorld points for the ISA Certification toward your firm's PartnerWorld level until it is renewed. 


  • Member Site
    Not sure what the Member site is? Find out the benefits of being a certified professional.

  • Premium Wallet Card
    Receive a premium wallet when you order your Premium Certificate.

Connect with Us